ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Swimming Incident No 1.

You know the BT [Bukit Timah] Campus pool is open to the public from 6.00pm on weekdays.

One Friday evening a group of Caucasian adults and young primary-school age children came to swim at around 6.00 pm when I was swimming with some NIE colleagues. The Caucasian folks then left at about 6.45pm while our group continued swimming. When I came out of the pool at about 7.10 pm.

I could not find my bag!

My clothes, house and car keys, IC card, Visa card, etc were all in the bag. The lifeguard suspected 2 Chinese teenagers who had come into the pool area at about 6.30 pm saying they wanted to look for their friends. Not finding their friends they left after about 10-15 minutes.

I had to telephone my wife to bring down an extra suit of clothes. After that I drove to the police station to make a report, bought new padlocks for my house, etc. Needless to say I did not sleep well that night and came to office the next day feeling a bit tired and negative.

Around 9.00 am, my phone rang and the person asked, “Are you Mr. Tan Wee Kiat?”I replied positively and the person continued, “I am sorry, sir. It was a hot day yesterday and my guest from Europe and his children and my family went for a swim in the pool. When we left the pool we took your bag as well, each family thinking that the other family had overlooked the bag!

This morning when my maid was washing the clothes she found this pair of trousers that was obviously too small for my guest or me. Your NIE name card was in the wallet and that is how I came to know your phone number”. Well, to make a long story short he drove to NIE to return my bag. Not only that, he presented me with a big bottle of wine as well.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2000
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

24 September, 2007 at 9:48 pm

Posted in Year 2000

