ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Argument in the parking lot

One Friday in the first week of the July semester, I came back from lunch with a couple of colleagues. However, when I drove up to my parking lot in front of Admin Building there was a car in it. I asked the security guard and was told that a Caucasian man had parked there even when he was told not to do so.

So, being the tough guy that I was (and still am?), I waited to confront him. He duly turned up, muttering and swearing (well, he appeared to be swearing!). I told him he should not inconvenience other people by parking in their assigned lots.

Instead of apologising, he said something to the effect, “I don’t know what kind of Institute this is. I am invited to come on Fridays. Today is Friday and I come here but there is no one to meet me. I am also usually directed to a parking lot but the security
guard won’t even let me park in a vacant lot”.

Finally, he got into his bone-shaker and drove off and I parked my own bone-shaker in its rightful allotted place.

As I walked to my office, I ran into my esteemed colleague Dr Ruth Wong. I related the whole incident to her and she said, “Oh! No! That must have been Father XYZ from ABC Catholic Church! Yes, we are supposed to have Mass every Friday but we don’t have it in the first week of semester as things are not quite settled yet”.

Imagine!

Dear old Tan Wee Kiat almost got into a confrontation with a dear old Catholic priest over a parking lot! Luckily it did not degenerate into a case of ‘road rage’.

I don’t know which headline will attract more attention:
“University lecturer attacked Catholic priest on Bukit Timah campus”
or
“Catholic priest attacked university lecturer on Bukit Timah campus”?

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2000
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

28 September, 2007 at 12:43 am

Posted in Year 2000

