ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

What is the oppposite of a bargain?

Some more stuff about Breadfruit. Its scientific name is ‘Artocarpusaltilis’. From this scientific name you can see it is related to 2 other well-known tropical fruits, the Jackfruit (Artocarpusheterophyllus) and the Chempedak (Artocarpusinteger). Unlike the Breadfruit, which has no smell, the Jackfruit and the Chempedak will announce its ripeness with a strong aroma. The aroma of the Jackfruit and Chempedak is not as strong as that of Durian. I thought I should tell you that in case you avoided Durian because of its overpowering aroma. Well, ‘swindle’ is not quite the word I want. My experience of a non-bargain happened this way.

A month back I called Borders to ask them whether they had the book, “Mutiny on the Bounty”. They checked their stocks and replied positively.

So, on a Saturday afternoon I went down to Borders in Orchard Road and bought the book which lightened my pocket by $28. After reading the book I was interested in the 2 books that chronicled the follow up, “Men Against the Sea” and “Pitcairn Island”. So, again I called up Borders and they checked their stocks and they again replied positively. When I went down to Borders, I was told that these 2 books were part of a Bounty Trilogy, i.e., 3 books in one and the price was $44.

You’ve guessed it -the first book in it was “Mutiny on the Bounty“. If I had known about the Bounty trilogy the first time I asked, I would have saved $28. Ah, well, you win some and you non-lose some.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2001
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

22 October, 2007 at 10:25 pm

Posted in Year 2001

