ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Lion Dance, Dragon Dance and Line Dance

Well, about a month back I met my youngest sister and her husband at a function. I had not met them for some months and my sister and her husband were noticeably slimmer. Teasing her, I asked, “And what diet are you on?”

Her reply was, “No diet but we do regular exercise”.

Me: Regular exercise! That’s good. And what do you do?

Youngest sis: Dancing. We join a Lion Dance group and dance twice weekly.

Me: Lion Dance! Wow! Isn’t that a bit too demanding?

Youngest sis: Not really! We only participate in the less vigorous kind of Lion Dance steps.

Me: Oh! I didn’t know that there is a less vigorous form. I guess you are the ‘Lion Tail’ and your husband is the ‘Lion Head‘.

Youngest sis: Head? Tail? Our Lion Dance doesn’t really have a Head or a Tail. We all stand in a line.

Me: Oh! A line of dancers! Then it is not ‘Lion Dance’ but ‘Chinese Dragon’ Dance!

Youngest sis: Chinese Dragon Dance! No, it is American Lion Dance.

Me: Amercian Lion Dance? Oh, I see [Eureka!]. It is American Line Dance you are talking about! Okay! Okay! So my hearing is not as good as it used to be. Apologies!

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2001
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

25 October, 2007 at 10:30 pm

Posted in Year 2001

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha. When my elder sizter told me that her friend goes for line dancing regularly at the CC, I also had a shock like you.

    Lam Chun See

    27 October, 2007 at 11:06 pm


Comments are closed.

