ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

NTU Staff Digest newsletter

The last 2 issues of NTU Staff Digest had NIE colleagues on the front page. The August 2001 issue featured Dr Lee Sing Kong and aeroponics vegetables. This September 2001 issue highlighted Dr Diong Cheong Hoong and baby turtles. Cute, aren’t they? [I am referring to the turtles.]

The September issue also had 3 pictures in the article, “The Perfect Partnership” about couples working in NTU. The 3 couples mentioned did not include our NIE people and you may think we do not have any of such partnerships in NIE. In fact, we have several:
Goh Chor Boon and Leong Lai Kuen
Gan Leong Huat and Yap YikY uen
Leslie Sharp and Pamela Sharpe
Kevin Blackburn and Tan Swee Ngin
Tan Tai Wei and Chew Lee Chin
John Wang and Liu Woon Chia

Incidentally, do not read anything extra into the fact that I mention the husband’s name first, before the wife’s name. It could just as well be the other way round. I, too, strongly believe in equal treatment of the sexes.

You know that old story about the man who said, “Of course, I strongly believe in equality of the sexes. I just wish that my wife would treat me as her equal”.

Poor man! He is probably the one who, when filling the part of the personal particulars form that asked about “Marital Status”,wrote down, “Henpecked!”.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2001
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

27 October, 2007 at 10:33 pm

Posted in Year 2001

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    sandrar

    11 September, 2009 at 5:59 am


Comments are closed.

