ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

A Coy Hotel

Have you heard of a ‘Coy Hotel’ here near NTU?

You haven’t?

Like you I wondered whether it was some unofficial version of a hotel, in the way that ‘private tuition’ is unofficial. The ‘coy hotel’ incident came about when I visited a fish farm at the Agro-Technology Park in Sungei Tengah, a 10-minute drive from NTU.

When the fish farm manager said he operated a coy hotel I thought to myself, “Is this man doing some fishy business besides his legitimate fish business? Anyway, what on earth is a coy hotel?”

When we walked to the ‘coy hotel’ section of the farm and I saw many koi fish happily swimming around, I then realised that ‘coy hotel’ meant koi hotel. [If you are leaving Singapore for some time, you can have your koi accommodated in this place –Nippon Koi Hotel.]

This ‘coy hotel’ confusion shows I have an imaginative mind, I think. Of course, the more puritanical among my friends may say it shows I have a ‘imaginative, but dirty‘ mind.

And, if any of my puritanical friends call me a DOM (Dirty Old Man) I would have to say that statement is a half-truth. Anyone can see I am not old.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2001
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

31 October, 2007 at 10:45 pm

Posted in Year 2001

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] for the Dirty-minded Posted November 1, 2007 Talking about DOM and dirty minds, here is a story about a special booth at a church charity […]


Comments are closed.

