ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

The good old days of Rediffusion

In the days before Cable TV and Cineplexes, almost every household and coffeeshop had a Rediffusion set. It was simply a wired box set on a wall shelf. This box had a knob and you chose either the English programmes or the Vernacular (Chinese/ Malay/ Tamil) programmes.

Having not seen a Rediffusion set for some years, I thought it had gone the way of the Dinosaurs. Imagine my surprise one day when I ate my lunch in an old coffeeshop (about 1 km from Jurong Point Shopping Centre) and heard the familiar music of the violin piece
‘Meditation’ coming from a box on a wall shelf –it really was a Rediffusion box (‘Meditation’ signalled the end of each day’s Rediffusion broadcast at 11.00pm).

I know many of you will think I am pulling your leg with this Rediffusion story but here is documentary evidence, from a recent (January 2002) receipt that the coffee-shop owner gave me.
Rediffusion receipt circa 2002

You want me to tell you where the coffee-shop is? Well, you know the usual fee for my consultations — one cup of coffee, and I will spill the beans.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2002
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

8 December, 2007 at 10:46 pm

Posted in Year 2002

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    Rediffusion’s well and truly alive. In fact, we’re going to be back with better offerings for our subscribers from mid 2008.

    Stay tuned!

    Daniel Goh

    21 January, 2008 at 10:07 am

  2. Yes, Rediffusion is still around. Visit my post here – I got a link to it’s website there. Best of all, no need to buy me kopi. 😉

    Victor Koo

    22 January, 2008 at 12:58 am

  3. Rediffusion’s monthly fee of $10.00 in Jan 2002 is still very affordable. In the 1960s, it was $5.00 but taking inflation into account, it is probably comparatively much cheaper now in real money terms.

    Victor Koo

    22 January, 2008 at 1:04 am


Comments are closed.

