ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Children should be seen and not hurt (1)

In our NIE Block 2 there is an Indian gentleman who oversees the cleaning of our offices and workrooms. He always has a smile on his face and I had visualised that he had a care-free life. One day I casually asked him whether his children were in school. He replied that his children were young and not yet in school. He then told me the first child was3 years old.

To keep the conversation going, I asked him how many children he had, expecting the answer to be “two” since the first one was 3 years old.

To my surprise he said, “Four”.

I responded with, “Four? Didn’t you say a minute ago that your first child was 3 years old?”

And he said, “Yes, sir. The first one is 3 years old; the other 3 are triplets and they are one year old.”

Hearing that, I took out my wallet, fished out the biggest note ($50) I had and told him, “Please buy something for your children when you go home today”.

I didn’t have the heart to tell him that old joke: “Oh, all your problems are only little ones”.

Perhaps, you may also like to send something for the little ones. If you do, please send me the gift and I will pass it to him.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2002
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

9 December, 2007 at 10:50 pm

Posted in Year 2002

