ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Children should be seen and not hurt (3)

In the previous retrievia I mentioned the story of the man who had 5 daughters before being blessed with a son.

(Yes, yes, yes –the 5 daughters are also blessings; I didn’t imply otherwise, did I?).

Anyway to follow up on this story:
The grandfather came along to the hospital’s maternity ward to see his new grandson. The old man took photos of the infant from this angle, from that angle, etc. He then took photos of the proud parents holding the baby boy from this angle, from that angle, etc. He crouched down to take a photo; he stood up on a chair to take another photo, etc. Oh, he was just so excited.

Just at the point where he was on the chair taking another photo, the matron (head nurse) of the maternity ward came in. She smiled kindly at the grey-haired old man standing up on the chair, camera in hand.

Matron: Ah, sir. You must be the proud grandfather.

Old man: Yes, I am.

Matron: Bet you are very happy!

Old man: Yes, I am.

Matron: Because it’s your first grandson?

Old man: No. Because it’s my first digital camera!

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2002
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

11 December, 2007 at 10:52 pm

Posted in Year 2002

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I strongly suspect Wee Kiat is speaking from personal experience here.

    Anyway, let me share my personal experience with your readers. Hope my wife not reading this blog.

    My first kid was a girl. When we were expecting no. 2, we went to NUH and did an ultrasonic scan. When asked, my wife insisted that the sex of baby was not important. But when told the fetus was male, she was so happy and kept thanking the technician who operated the machine. Hey .. shouldn’t I be the one who should be thanked???

    Lam Chun See

    12 December, 2007 at 3:36 pm

  2. Hi!
    Thanks for visiting my retrievia blog.
    Wrt >I strongly suspect Wee Kiat is speaking from personal experience here.<,
    I have another small (true) story to share.

    Some 20 years back I met a old friend and, as usual for friends who had not met for a few years, we talked about “How big are your children now?”
    I told my friend that my son was in NS and my daughter in Secondary school. I said NS was something he did not have to think about as he had 3 daughters.

    I did not realise he was such a conservative Chinese until he responded to my remark with, “There are other things to think about though; you would not know what it feels like not to have a son to carry on the family name”.

    tan wee kiat

    13 December, 2007 at 11:54 am


Comments are closed.

