ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Multi-racial and multi-lingual Singapore

Singapore has 4 official languages, so does it have a 4-language stamp?

I had been poring over Singapore stamps and catalogues for some months in connection with some philatelic work, but had never encountered a 4-language stamp. In meetings with Singapore Post (you should see their posh HQ next to Paya Lebar MRT) and the Singapore Philatelic Museum folks, I had advocated this 4-language wording to be included in future stamps. In fact, I said, “Stamps are mostly squarish or rectangular, it should be easy to put one language on its side in future designs.”

The response would be polite nods and words to the effect this would be kept in mind.

Just last night, as I sat idly poring over the Singapore Stamp Catalogue, I saw a 4-language stamp staring at me. How I could have missed it on all the previous occasions, I cannot understand.

I guess it is a case of “You see what you expect to see; you hear what you expect to hear”.

The stamp was issued in 1995 February. I think it is the only 4-language stamp issued in Singapore so far (and perhaps in the world as well).

The theme of the stamp is particularly appropriate for Christmas.

Well, here for your viewing pleasure is the attachment showing the stamp.
Multi-racial and multi-lingual Singapore stamp 1995

May there be, “Peace on earth and goodwill to all”.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2002
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

25 December, 2007 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Year 2002

