ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Archive for January 27th, 2008

Getting stoned (1)

Somewhere in my previous retrievia I mentioned a sermon where the pastor told the story about the woman who had committed adultery.

Under the law of that time this woman would be condemned to death by stoning. The story goes that this woman was brought before Jesus and He was asked what action should be taken.

Jesus simply looked down at the ground and said, “He who is without sin, may cast the first stone”.

One by one, the crowd left. When Jesus looked up and saw no one, He asked the woman, “Where are they, who have condemned you”?

The woman answered, “They did not condemn me”.

And Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you. Go. And leave your life of sin”.

At that point in the sermon, I suddenly looked up and asked my wife who was seated next to me.

”You know what I heard the pastor saying; it seemed like “Go. And live your life of sin”!

What my ears told me didn’t square with what my brain told me!

It is a reminder to pronounce ‘leave’ and ‘live’ differently and clearly.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2003/ 2004
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

27 January, 2008 at 9:06 pm

Posted in Year 2003/ 2004