ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Second Childhood

One Monday evening I went to Yio Chu Kang Swimming Pool for a night swim. To use the ticket-dispensing machine you have to press the category you want. Being a senior Senior Citizen of 63 years of age (you only have to be 55 years old to qualify for this category), I needed to pay only 50 cents for my swim ticket instead of $1.00 .

On this particular occasion, I pressed the ‘Senior Citizen‘ slot and put in my 50-cent coin.

To my surprise, the coin rolled out. When I looked at the ‘Senior Citizen’ slot again, I noticed there was a big red cross on it. This indicated that the machinehad exhausted its store of ‘Senior Citizen’ tickets.

I duly informed the lady clerk at the counter desk, intending topay her and get a receipt but she said, “Old Uncle, please go back to the ticketing machine and press the‘Child’ slot ”.

I told her that I couldn’t honestly do that as I was no more a child by a long shot .

She said, “It doesn’t matter. ‘Senior Citizen’ and ‘Child’ same-same. The price is 50 cents.”

So, being the obedient overgrown child that I am, I pressed and obtained the ‘Child’ ticket and carried on with my swim. Somehow, it seemed a bit easier to swim the pool laps that evening.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2003/ 2004
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

30 January, 2008 at 9:15 pm

Posted in Year 2003/ 2004

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hahaha. Good one.

    Victor Koo

    1 February, 2008 at 12:02 pm

  2. Does “good one” from you mean good for one coffee from you? Ha! Ha!

    tan wee kiat

    1 February, 2008 at 5:42 pm


Comments are closed.

