ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Everything should go swimmingly

Swimming is one of my pastimes and I like going to different venues for my swim on Sunday afternoons.

Last Sunday I threw a bath towel into my swimming bag (yes, we serious swimmers keep a special bag with our swimming stuff in it) and said to myself, “I haven’t been to Farrer Park Public Pool for a long time”.

So, I got into my car and drove to FarrerPark Public Pool (near Kandang Kerbau Hospital). When I got there, I found that the gate to the pool was chained.

Anyway, not wanting to count the afternoon a total loss, I spent the rest of the afternoon walking in the Rangoon Road area looking at old buildings, etc. In one of the shops I found an interesting old business – the shop makes side-car attachments for motor-cycles.

In the old days (meaning 30-40 years ago) it was common to see farmers in Singapore carrying their produce to market in such a vehicle. It was a cheap and flexible ‘carry-all’ vehicle, for transporting family members, pigs, chickens, ducks, vegetables, etc (not all at once, of course). Well, if you are thinking of buying a motor-bike-with-side-car attachment (a real original MPV – Multi-
Purpose Vehicle), you can contact yours truly for the address of the place.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2003/ 2004
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

5 February, 2008 at 9:32 pm

Posted in Year 2003/ 2004

