ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

Archive for February 15th, 2008

Retirement

The William Farquhar Collection of Natural History DrawingsMay I thank all the colleagues who combined to give me the book, The William Farquhar Collection of Natural History Drawings.

It is a wonderful coffee-table book – I envisage endless hours of pleasure reading it at home. Before this, I could only read the copy in our NIE Library.

This coffee-table book costs quite a bit. You can get an idea of the cost when I tell you that it costs more than my coffee-table!

Thank you, dear colleagues.

May I also thank the dear colleagues who spent many hours creating gift-books. One gift book from the NIE-TGIF Nature Walk group had photos from the many outings that we enjoyed.

In one of the photos were 2 staff members who are now married. I have been told that their love for each other blossomed during the nature walks – and to think that all the time I thought we were just admiring flowers and plants. I won’t invade their privacy by telling you who they are. I am happy that the Nature Walks have been so fruitful.

Re-trievia recalled: Excerpts from Year 2003/ 2004
Tan Wee Kiat

Written by Ivan Chew

15 February, 2008 at 10:11 pm

Posted in Year 2003/ 2004