ReTRIeVIA

:: trivia retrieved ::

An End That Leads To A New Beginning

Book cover

We have eventually come to the end of the transport book. But wait… the journey has not ended. As they say, “every road leads somewhere” and “when a door closes, another opens“. Or rather, in our case it should be “when a book closes, another opens“. 😉

Tomorrow, we will start page-by-page blogging of our brand new book, Singapore Stamps: Remembering VIPs. This book is another joint effort by the same 3 co-authors who brought you the transport book, i.e. Dr Tan Wee Kiat, Noel Hidalgo Tan and yours truly.

Undoubtedly, most of the hard work involved in writing this book was done by Dr Tan and Noel; I only played a minor supporting role, i.e. proofreading and on-line publishing aka blogging.

This book is special in that it is the first time that we are putting it on-line even before it goes to the printers. Yes, that might affect profits somewhat should the book ever go on sale later. However, as Dr Tan would say, the purpose of our books has always been to share knowledge. And when knowledge is shared, everyone profits.

We hope that you will find this book an interesting read.

Written by victorkoo

27 March, 2008 at 10:00 am

Posted in Philatelic Book

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Victor,
    best of luck with your new book. I really enjoyed the transport book and will treasure my copy of the book that was given to me that day we met iin Changi. Using stamps to illustrate topics is a wonderful idea. I remember my own stamp collecting days as a young boy and being amazed by stamps from Sarawak. This set off an inner desire to visit Sarawak which was never satisfied until I was doing support work on a project in Malaysia and they asked if I would be willing to go to Kuching to do some training and support at the manufacturing plant there. I enjoyed Kuching very much as in many ways it reminded me of my times in Singapore as a youngster. I think stamps have the power to stimulate the imagination and to generate that element of curiosity on a variety of topics that has stayed with me beyond my stamp collecting days.

    John

    John Harper

    27 March, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  2. Hi John,

    Wow, I didn’t expect a comment to come in so fast. Thank you.

    Actually, I may be jumping the gun because the VIP behind this book is really Dr Tan. He is the old veteran and brain behind the series of stamp-based books for children… and adults like you who enjoy reading about stamps. 😉

    Victor Koo

    27 March, 2008 at 4:58 pm

  3. Dear Mr Harper,
    Thanks for the kind remarks about the “Transport” book.
    Victor is his usual modest self, deflecting the credit to other people.

    In this “VIPs on Singapore Stamps” book, there is a section on British royalty
    featured on Singapore stamps, starting with Queen Victoria.
    I am sure you can recognise two of the stamps on the cover; one shows
    King George VI and his wife, and the other Queen Elizabeth II and
    the statue of Sir Stamford Raffles in front of the Victoria Memorial Hall.

    Regards,
    tan wee kiat

    tan wee kiat

    28 March, 2008 at 9:03 am

  4. Dear Mr Harper,
    Thanks for the kind remarks about the “Transport” book.
    Victor is his usual modest self, deflecting the credit to other people.

    In this “VIPs on Singapore Stamps” book, there is a section on British royalty
    featured on Singapore stamps, starting with Queen Victoria.
    I am sure you can recognise two of the stamps on the cover page; one shows
    King George VI and his wife, and the other shows Queen Elizabeth II and
    the statue of Sir Stamford Raffles in front of the Victoria Memorial Hall.

    Regards,
    tan wee kiat

    tan wee kiat

    28 March, 2008 at 9:06 am

  5. I have been surfing the web more than 2 hours today, and this is the best article I’ve come across. I’m a blog post fiend so I’ve actually seen a lot already.Personally I think, if all webmasters and bloggers made as good content as youhave, the internet would bemuch more useful than ever before.

    my site

    4 May, 2013 at 4:35 pm


Comments are closed.

