:: trivia retrieved ::

Page 33



In the 19th century the British Empire stretched around the world and was known as “the Empire on which the sun never sets”. When Raffles founded Singapore in 1819, it became a part of the British Empire.

Under British rule for about 140 years, the legacy of this rule is evident in the many roads, buildings and bridges named after British VIPs. In addition, we use English as our common language, drive on the left-hand side of the road, and have similar laws and systems of government.

The British Empire no longer exists since the countries under its rule are now independent nations. These independent nations are members of an organisation known as the “British Commonwealth”. There are regular meetings of the heads of these countries to foster goodwill and co-operation. Singapore hosted one such meeting in 1971.

Stamp: 1971 Jan


Written by victorkoo

28 April, 2008 at 10:00 am

Posted in Philatelic Book

Tagged with , ,

%d bloggers like this: