:: trivia retrieved ::

Archive for May 15th, 2008

Page 50


In the 1959 General Elections the People’s Action Party (PAP) won 43 out of 51 seats. With this majority, the PAP was able to form the government. The stamp here shows a row of nine men with congratulatory garlands. These nine VIPs were the ministers of the 1959 government.

The ministers (from left to right) are:
Yong Nyuk Lin, Ong Eng Guan, S Rajaratnam, Ahmad bin Ibrahim, Ong Pang Boon, Dr Goh Keng Swee, Dr Toh Chin Chye, K M Byrne and Lee Kuan Yew

Stamp: 1998 Jul     Picture from National Archives of Singapore


Written by victorkoo

15 May, 2008 at 10:00 am

Posted in Philatelic Book

Tagged with , ,