:: trivia retrieved ::

Archive for October 5th, 2009

Page 21


University Cultural Centre

The National University of Singapore (NUS) is a landmark in Kent Ridge where it is currently located.  The parentage of the NUS goes back to 1905 when a medical college, later named King Edward VII Medical College was founded in Sepoy Lines.  In 1928, Raffles College at the Bukit Timah campus was established.  The buildings of this beautiful campus are now home of the NUS’s Law Faculty and research institutes.  In 1949, Raffles College and the King Edward VII Medical College merged to form the University of Malaya.

When a separate campus was established in Kuala Lumpur, the University was renamed the University of Malaya in Singapore.  In 1962, it became the University of Singapore.  It merged with Nanyang University to become the National University of Singapore in 1980.  This stamp, which depicts the University Cultural Centre (built in 2000) was issued in 2005 as part of the NUS’s centenary celebrations.

Written by victorkoo

5 October, 2009 at 1:00 pm

Posted in Philatelic Book

Tagged with , ,