:: trivia retrieved ::

Archive for June 24th, 2010

Page 96



(This list is accurate as of January 2007)

Gazetted on 18 December 1998

Chesed-El Synagogue
The Old Hill Street Police Station (now known as MICA Building)
Ying Fo Fui Kun
Central Fire Station
The Old Nanyang University Library & Administration Building, Memorial and Arch

Gazetted on 19 March 1999

The Chinese High School Clock Tower Building

Gazetted on 12 January 2000

Prinsep Street Presbyterian Church

Gazetted on 2 December 2002

Tan Teck Guan Building
College of Medicine Building
Old Admiralty House

Gazetted on 10 February 2003

Cathay Building
Church of St Peter and St Paul
MacDonald House

Gazetted on 14 January 2005

St Joseph’s Church
Church of Our Lady of Lourdes
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Tou Mu Kung Temple

Gazetted on 15 February 2006

Old Ford Factory

The Preservation of Monuments Board (PMB) was formed in 1971 with the enactment of the Preservation of Monuments Act on 29 January 1971.  It was transferred from Ministry of National Development to Ministry of Information and the Arts (MITA) on 1 April 1997 as a statutory board under MITA.

The Board is now a statutory board of the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts (MICA).

The Board’s objectives are:

  • To preserve monuments of historic, traditional, archaelogical, architectural or artistic interests;
  • To protect and augment the amenities of those monuments;
  • To stimulate public interest and support in the preservation of those monuments; and
  • To take appropriate measures to preserve all records, documents and data relating to those monuments.

Written by victorkoo

24 June, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Posted in Philatelic Book

Tagged with , ,