:: trivia retrieved ::

Page 90



There are landmarks that are part of Singapore but not on the main island of Singapore.  These landmarks are lighthouses, which are more familiar with sailors and people out at sea.  Most of these lighthouses were built in the 19th century.

In 1982, a special issue celebrated the three best-known Singapore lighthouses:  Sultan Shoal, Horsburgh and Raffles.  Incidentally, Raffles Lighthouse was also featured on the first gold coin ever struck by Singapore, the 1969 $150 gold coin.

Sultan Shoal Lighthouse

The Sultan Shoal Lighthouse, built in 1896, is located 26 kilometres south-west of Singapore.  It is a landmark that guides ships coming from the Straits of Malacca into the Straits of Singapore and vice-versa.  The Sultan Shoal lighthouse was originally constructed on pillars built into the rocky shoal, as shown in the stamp.  In 1975, the land around the rocky shoal was reclaimed to form an island of about 10,000 square metres.

Written by victorkoo

3 June, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Posted in Philatelic Book

Tagged with , ,

%d bloggers like this: